Congratulations to Lloyd Spiegel, winner of the

Blues & Roots Radio Worldwide Album Of The Year Award 2018

for his release ' Backroads '

We would like to extend our thanks to all the artists who have submitted their music over the last year to be featured on Blues and Roots Radio, also to all the nominees who are all winners and the panel of jurors from around the world who have devoted their time and maintained the integrity of this process.

Background  photograph  by Anne Connor, Toronto, Canada .

Stevie Connor ( Co-founder Blues & Roots Radio ), Lloyd Spiegel and Sarah Porter ( Porter Music Management, Canada )

Album Of The Year Presentation

Blues & Roots Radio Worldwide

Album Of The Year Award Presentation - Melbourne

Lloyd Spiegel was presented with the Blues and Roots Radio Worldwide Album Of The Year Award 2018 for his release ' Backroads ' at the Melbourne Blues Appreciation Society 

Blues & Roots Radio's Head Of Operations Australia, Neil Mitchell, presented the award in front of a packed house at Lloyd's home venue.

Congratulations to Lloyd and his team and the society for allowing us to present the award at their monthly jam evening in Melbourne.

Lloyd Spiegel Website

Watch the presentation video below


We Gave away 5 copies of Backroads 

5 winners were drawn on Sunday January 27th at Noon

The Question Was :  What make of guitar does Lloyd Spiegel play ? 

The contest closed Sunday January 27th at Noon Eastern Time, 5 names were drawn to receive a copy each of the album. Entries were received  worldwide.

The Winners were : 

Leyland Campbell - Perth, Western Australia 

Theo Loodjimans - Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Beth Anderson - Innisfil, ON, Canada 

Meredith Webb - Inverloch, VIC, Australia 

Marilyn MacDonald, Dartmouth, NS, Canada

From the many albums featured on Blues & Roots Radio in 2018 we asked a panel of  jurors from the station based around the world to pick twenty to go forward to be considered for the 2nd annual  Blues & Roots Radio Worldwide Album of The Year Award 2018


Rum Ragged

Kellie Loder


Spencer MacKenzie

Lloyd Spiegel

Crystal Shawanda

Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar

Merry Hell


Glenn Skuthorpe


Track Dogs


Steve Dawson

Leeroy Stagger

Shemekia Copeland

The Fugitives

Suzie Vinnick

Trevor Babajack Steger

Chris Okunbor

King Heat Ensemble

Luke Plumb & The Circuit

Blues & Roots Radio Album Of The Year Award 2017

Every Soul's A Sailor - Stephen Fearing

The inaugural award was presented to Stephen at Hugh's Room Live in Toronto, Canada in early 2018