top of page

International Song Contest 2020

Sponsored By

Willow_Half_Page_HIGH REZ.png
The Sound Cafe Logo.jpg

The International Song Contest this year was judged by an independent panel of ten ( 10 ) jurors who are currently part of the Worldwide Blues & Roots Radio team, they are all active in their music communities in Canada, USA, Europe and Australia, a number of the jurors sit on regional and national award panels in their respective countries. 

Thank you to everyone who submitted their songs to this years contest, we had a record number of entries from around the world, the quality of entries was extremely high making it a difficult task for our jurors.


Listed below are the chosen finalists ( 15 ) for each category.


The overall winner was chosen from the three ( 3 ) winning category finalists.

Thank You To Our Amazing Sponsors

Blues & Roots Radio International Song Contest 2020 Overall Winner.​

Colin Clyne- Where The Ships Go To Die

Blues & Roots Radio Annual Award + $1000 CAD ( $250 Category Winner + $750 Overall Winner )

Colin Clyne.jpeg

Scottish rain and whiskey soaked songs dried off in the Californian sunshine. Colin Clyne is an award winning Scottish singer/songwriter (Country, Folk Rock, and Americana). Having spent 10 years in California, Clyne is now back in Scotland blazing a trail in the UK music scene. He left San Diego as a 2 time winner of ‘The Best Acoustic Act’ at the prestigious San Diego Music Awards. In the US, NBC featured Colin in a top 12 list of best singer songwriters associated with San Diego in amongst, Tom Waits, Jewel, and the late Jim Croce.

In addition to his previous album, "Doricana", "The Never Ending Pageant" was produced by Grammy Award Winning Engineer, Alan Sanderson, (The Stones, Elton John, Ryan Adams, Burt Bacharach). 'Pageant' reached #6 on the iTunes Country album charts and his song "Top of the Mountain' was a Finalist in the UK Songwriting contest.


STV (Scottish TV) hailed Colin as a "...rising star of Scotland..." with 'The Sun' newspaper describing his latest offering as '...a glorious selection of folk and country rock numbers...' akin to Ryan Adams or Bruce Springsteen.

Clyne has become a seasoned road vet, impressing crowds at venues ranging from Hollywood’s infamous Viper Room, to Scotland’s Tartan Heart Festival (Belladrum) and all manner of stages in between.


Screen Shot 2020-09-03 at 8.34.10 AM.png

Category Finalists 2020

Band | Duo | Trio Category Finalists ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Big Little Lions - Its Amazing

  • Birch Pereira and the Gin Joints - A Love I Can't Explain

  • Corn Nut Creek - Nowhere To Go 

  • Flo Perlin and Pilgrims Dream - Life Lives Inside

  • Fresh Breath - Make It Together 

  • Happenstance - Love Will Bring You Back

  • Kate Lush Band - Jackson

  • Liz Jones & Broken Windows - Candle 

  • Our Man in the Field - Thin (I Used To Be Bullet Proof)

  • Paul Saint John and the Nighthawks - Dr Jekyll & Mr Hyde

  • Stacey McNeill and Jonathan Smith  - Between The Lines

  • The Nesrallah Artuso Project - Isolation Blues 

  • The Winnie Blues - Coming Home To You 

  • Tillers Folly - Go the Road

  • Waterstreet Blues Band - Riverside Child 

 Jurors Top Five Song Choices ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Corn Nut Creek - Nowhere To Go

  • Kate Lush Band - Jackson

  • Our Man In The Field - Thin ( I Used To Be Bullet Proof ) 

  • Paul Saint John and The Nighthawks - Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde 

  • The Winnie Blues -  Coming Home To You 


Kate Lush Band - Jackson

Cash Award $250 CAD

Female Category Finalists ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Anna Boulic - Who Stole My Crown

  • Anna Renae - Alaska

  • Aspen Jacobsen - Georgia Boy

  • Chanele McGuinness - Give Me Your Life 

  • Dione Taylor - Workin' 

  • Francine Honey - Cant Press Reset 

  • Isobel Thatcher - More Than Words 

  • Izzy Burns - Broken Compass 

  • Jenny Biddle - Hero in Me (Hero in You Sequel) 

  • Kim Moberg - Here Be Dragons 

  • Liz Jones - Mother Earth 

  • Loryn Taggart - The River 

  • Sandra Sutter - Hypnotized 

  • Sarah Yeo - Easily 

  • Terra Spencer - Lunenburg Moon 

 Jurors Top Five Song Choices ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • ​Anna Renae - Alaska

  • Dione Taylor - Workin'

  • Izzy Burns - Broken Compass

  • Jenny Biddle - Hero In Me ( Hero In You Sequel )

  • Loryn Taggart - The River


Jenny Biddle - Hero In Me ( Hero In You Sequel )

Cash Award $250 CAD

Screen Shot 2021-01-30 at 9.35.54 AM.png

Male Category Finalists ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Braden Gates - New In Town 

  • Bruce Coughlan - Lean Times 

  • Colin Clyne - Where The Ships Go To Die

  • Glen MacNeil - The Quiet 

  • Jeremy Hill - More And More Each Day

  • Kieran Begbie - Smile

  • Kirk Diamond - Let It Be Done 

  • Lloyd Spiegel - Tangled Brew

  • Loveridge - The Doom Bar

  • Mark Crissinger - Poor Boy Blues

  • Mike P Ryan - Fais Do Do (A Cajun Lullaby) 

  • Mitch Jean - All I Ever Need

  • RNR - 1492 

  • Saoirse Mhór - Table of Losers (Part I)

  • Steve Warner Folk - Blue 

 Jurors Top Five Song Choices ( In Alphabetical Order )

  • Colin Clyne - Where The Ships Go To Die

  • Kirk Diamond - Let It Be Done

  • Lloyd Spiegel - Tangled Brew

  • Loveridge - The Doom Bar

  • Mitch Dean - All I Ever Need


Colin Clyne - Where The Ships Go To Die

Cash Award $250 CAD



Lynne Hanson - Higher Ground


The Blues & Roots Radio Award for international Song Of The Year 2019 winner

Lynne Hanson is based in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Too tough for folk and too blues influenced for country, Lynne Hanson's brand of "porch music with a little red dirt" can turn on a dime from a sunshine, blue sky ballad to a full-on thunderstorm of gritty Americana swamp from one song to the next. She's known for her high-energy, roots guitar driven live performances, whether playing solo or with her band the Good Intentions. A closet stand-up comedian, Lynne often leaves the audience howling with laughter with her between-song-banter. 

Lynne is a two-time Canadian Folk Music Award winner (2018 English Songwriter, Ensemble of the Year with The LYNNeS), a two-time Indie Acoustic Project Alt-Country album of the year winner (River of Sand 2014, Uneven Ground 2017), a past winner of the Colleen Peterson Songwriting Award, and a two-time finalist in the prestigious Kerrville New Folk competition in Texas. 

Lynne has performed in venues and festivals across Canada, parts of the United States, and in Europe, had official showcases in Memphis, TN and Austin TX, has toured in support of Grammy nominated songwriters (Gretchen Peters, Steve Forbert), and opened for guitar legend Albert Lee in the UK and Canada.

View all Finalists and Winners 2019



Thornetta Davis - I Believe ( Everything Gonna Be Alright )

Screen Shot 2019-11-26 at 1.35.50 PM.png

The Blues & Roots Radio Award for international Song Of The Year 2018 winner

Thornetta Davis hails from Detroit, Michigan, USA and has been exciting and wowing audiences all over the world. Her voice is strong, commanding, melodic and smooth. She tells her stories with incredible delivery and leaves her audiences wanting more, backed by her great band of Detroit Musicians. She is the recipient of 30 Detroit Music Awards plus many other accolades, in 2015 she was crowned ' Detroits Queen Of The Blues ' 

Music video for I Believe performed by Thornetta Davis. Copyright (C)  Sweet Mama Records 

View all Finalists and Winners 2018

Screen Shot 2019-11-26 at 1.35.50 PM.png
bottom of page